A | A | A

What is Schengen?

From 25 March 2001 Norway is part of the Schengen co-operation. For visa purposes, this means that a visa for entry into any one of the countries in the Schengen area will normally also be valid for all the other Schengen countries within the period for which the visa is valid. However, over a period of six months you are not permitted to spend more than a total of three months inside the Schengen area.

From 25 March 2001 Schengen visas are issued by and valid for the following member states:

  • Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, The Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden.

The issuing of Schengen visas is discretionary and depends on examination of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return. If you intend to visit one of the Schengen countries for business, as a tourist, or for a personal/private visit, you must first obtain a Schengen visa. This normally enables you to visit any, several or all of the countries mentioned above and to move freely in all of the Schengen countries within the validity of the visa.

Be sure to plan your trip carefully in case you plan to travel in and out of the Schengen area. In that case you may need a multiple entry Schengen visa. Please note that the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland do not participate in the Schengen visa co-operation.

You should not apply for a Schengen visa if you plan to remain in a Schengen member state for longer than three months or take up employment or establish a business or trade. In such cases you must apply for a work or residence permit as required by the country in question.